Meaningful Use

The ONC/CMS Meaningful use program grew out of the American Reinvestment & Recovery Act (ARRA) which was enacted on February 17, 2009. ARRA includes many measures to modernize our nation's infrastructure, one of which is the "Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act.

The concept of meaningful use rested on the '5 pillars' of health outcomes policy priorities, namely:

  • Improving quality, safety, efficiency, and reducing health disparities
  • Engage patients and families in their health
  • Improve care coordination
  • Improve population and public health
  • Ensure adequate privacy and security protection for personal health information

The "Meaningful Use" program has been renamed to "Promoting Interoperability"

The Usability People work with you on improving the Usability of Healthcare IT.

For expert 2015 ONC Safety-enhanced Design (aka Usability) evaluation of your EHR: contact The Usability People

The Usability People

Together we may save a life! #SafeHealthIT